top of page

Goldenseal Lime Soda with Fresh Lemon Balm


It's cold season. Exposure to viruses is impossible to avoid, especially if you happen to have any kids or take public transit. I work in a clinic so I am particularly doomed. Fortunately I have a secret weapon and that weapon is Hydrastis Canadensis, otherwise known as goldenseal.

Anytime I feel the first signs of a cold, which is a touch of a sore throat usually, I start drinking hydrastis. By doing this I can usually prevent the cold from progressing and get to skip the whole horrible process. It did not stop me from getting strep, it was not strong enough to combat that level of pathogen, but I have avoided many colds.

Goldenseal is quite bitter and bitters don't taste good. You get used to them with time. To take the edge off, I dilute 1 mL of Hydrastis tincture with sparkling water and add 1-2 tsp of lime juice. Alternatively cranberry juice works really well too.

Sometimes I have to drink it once or twice for a few days before the minor sore throat disappears completely. I have to drink it within a few hours of noticing the sore throat though otherwise I miss the window and get sick anyway.

Historically goldenseal has been used to treat respiratory issues (like colds) and mucus membranes (like the throat). I didn't realize how effective it would be against colds until I tried it a few times and more or less mastered the technique. I also don't have studies for this because it is not the most common use of this herb, just personal experience and historical documents. I don't know if it would work for a flu as this would be hard to test on my own. Hydrastis is a bitter so it can also improve digestive function. I could see this being a problem for some people if they already have looser stools. Hydrastis also has an effect on the liver so it may interact with the metabolism of some medications. When in doubt ask a Naturopathic Doctor or herbalist if it is safe to take with your meds before trying.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page