top of page

Perfect Little Solution For When Your Nose Hurts From A Cold

One of the consequences of having a child in school is frequent exposure to an assortment of infectious diseases. My Son brought home strep, then a particularly nasty cold, both of which I acquired myself. I was fortunate in a way to get strep because it was the only way to truly understand how painful that condition can be. It was so bad, Textbooks descriptions don't do it justice. Now when a patient comes in with this condition I will be extra empathetic. Before I had a chance to get rid of the strep, the nasty cold took over.

This cold was annoying in that my nose was running constantly and my sinuses were filling and blocking despite what felt like constant blowing. Blowing my nose so frequently left my nose very red, dried and painful. I tried to apply moisturizer frequently but that burns like crazy. Even my all natural, homemade calendula salve burned. I stopped using moisturizer as it was making things worse, then I had an idea.

I have a sample of Skinfix Hand Repair Cream. I would not normally put a hand cream on my face, that just seems like it would burn worse, but I have a bit of experience with this companies products. Skinfix had a table at a health show in Halifax when I was there 6 or 7 years ago. They gave out samples of the one cream they had on display in these little plastic bottles with a not so official looking label affixed to it. I popped the sample in my bag and forgot about it. It turned out to be this awesome little miracle cream with multiple uses. I was so impressed I kept the empty container just in case there was a chance I could order more if I needed it. Then I saw them at a supplier fair in Toronto last year. They have products in Shoppers now.

So I took a chance and put the hand cream on my face around my nose. Did it burn? Yes, but only for a second and then it was very soothing. Everything else I tried kept burning until I removed it, this was different. I have been using it for the last 3 days and it stopped burning completely after a few uses. The skin around my nose is not dry or crusty or red. Most importantly my nose doesn't hurt. So this was a win. My hands are soft too :)

Disclaimer: In terms of conflict of interest, I do NOT get paid to endorse this or any company. I have my favorites, but that is determined by using and liking a product, not profit or what they give me. I have received free samples from this company as mentioned. ND students and interns get a lot of free samples from companies. Some are great, some have given me weird side effects.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page